U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Brownfields Assessment

 

A Coalition, led by the Oregon Cascades West Council of Governments (OCWCOG), including  the Cities of Newport, Toledo; the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians, and Lincoln County, has been awarded a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Brownfields Community-Wide Assessment Grant. (A brownfield is a property that is not being used to its full potential because of known or suspected environmental pollution.) The grant is intended to support brownfield redevelopment in developed areas within the Yaquina River watershed: the Cities of Newport and Toledo, and the areas of Lincoln County located near the Yaquina River between the cities.

A Coalition of partners will represent the interests of their jurisdictions and assist with community outreach and public involvement throughout the grant period. A Brownfields Advisory Committee garners input from local stakeholders and community representatives. The grant concludes in the fall of 2020. Additional information, Coalition partners, and resources are included below.

Yaquina Bay Brownfields Coalition logo

U.S. EPA Brownfield Coalition

Personnel Name & Title Agency Contact Info
Jeff Gepper
Community and Economic Development Planner
OCWCOG jgepper@ocwcog.org
Onno Husing
Planning Director
Lincoln County housing@co.lincoln.or.us
Craig Martin
City Manager
City of Toledo manager@cityoftoledo.org
Rachel Cotton
Associate Planner
City of Newport r.cotton@newportoregon.gov
Stewart Brannen
Chief Executive Officer
Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians sbrannen@stbcorp.net
Caroline Bauman Economic Development Alliance of Lincoln County ecdev@orcoast.com
Margaret Olson U.S. Environmental Protection Agency olson.margaret@epa.gov
Mary Camarata Department of Environmental Quality mary.camarata@state.or.us
Leonard Farr Jr. Stantec Leonard.Farr@stantec.com


Contact Us

Phil Warnock
pwarnock@ocwcog.org
541-924-8474

Yaquina Bay Brownfields Coalition logo