U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Brownfields Assessment

 

A Coalition, led by the Oregon Cascades West Council of Governments (OCWCOG), including  the Cities of Newport, Toledo; the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians, and Lincoln County, has been awarded a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Brownfields Community-Wide Assessment Grant. (A brownfield is a property that is not being used to its full potential because of known or suspected environmental pollution.) The grant is intended to support brownfield redevelopment in developed areas within the Yaquina River watershed: the Cities of Newport and Toledo, and the areas of Lincoln County located near the Yaquina River between the cities.

A Coalition of partners will represent the interests of their jurisdictions and assist with community outreach and public involvement throughout the grant period. A Brownfields Advisory Committee garners input from local stakeholders and community representatives. The Coalition was granted a 1 year extension and the grant concludes in the fall of 2021. Additional information, Coalition partners, and resources are included below.

Yaquina Bay Brownfields Coalition logo

U.S. EPA Brownfield Coalition

Personnel Name & Title Agency Contact Info
Justin Peterson
Community and Economic Development Planner
OCWCOG jpeterson@ocwcog.org
Onno Husing
Planning Director
Lincoln County housing@co.lincoln.or.us
Judy Richter
City Manager
City of Toledo Judy.Richter@cityoftoledo.org
Beth Young
Associate Planner
City of Newport B.Young@NewportOregon.gov
Ann Lewis
Commercial Property Manager
Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians alewis@stbcorp.net
Tracy Bailey
Economic Development Alliance of Lincoln County tracyb@ctsi.nsn.us
Margaret Olson U.S. Environmental Protection Agency olson.margaret@epa.gov
Mary Camarata Department of Environmental Quality mary.camarata@state.or.us

Graeme Taylor
Program Manager

Stantec Graeme.Taylor@stantec.com


Contact Us

Justin Peterson
jpeterson@ocwcog.org
541-924-8420

News

Three new projects have been approved by EPA. Please click HERE for more details.

Yaquina Bay Brownfields Coalition logo